Association of

AALAM Awards

Since 2000, AALAM together with the Dow Fund has awarded the AALAM Community Service Award to an attorney who makes significant contributions to the community outside of their day job.  

Since 2005, AALAM has awarded a Founders Award, presented annually to an Asian-American attorney who has made significant contributions in business, academics or the community as it relates to the law.

Recipients of the AALAM
Community Service Award

2019: Sarah Kim

2018: Vincent Lau

2017: Jeff Hsi

2016: Geoff Why

2015: Onyen Yong

2014: Vivian Hsu

2013: Francis Chin

2012: Marian Tse

2011: Amy Mah Sangiolo

2010: Judge R. Chin, Judge P. Yee, Pancho Chang, and Jeanne Fong for founding the predecessor organization to the GBLS-AOU

2009: Rebecca Lee

2008: Paul M. Yee

2007: Fred Dow

2006: Zenobia Lai

2005: Glenn D. Magpantay, Andrew M. Troop and Cynthia Mark for their work on voting rights in Boston.

2004: Chi Chi Wu


2002: Paul Lee

2001: Andrew Leong

Recipients of the AALAM
Founders Award

2019: Cyndi Mark

2018: Hon. Theodore D. Chuang

2017: Paul Lee

2016: Hon. Fernande R. V. Duffly

2015: Deval Patrick, Former Governor of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts

2014: Hon. Denny Chin (US Court of Appeals, 2nd Cir.)

2013: Rebecca A. Lee (Edwards Wildman Palmer LLP)

2012: Ivan Fong (Department of Homeland Security)

2011: William F. Lee (WilmerHale)

2010: Don Liu (Xerox)

2009: AALAM Founders

2008: Hon. Richard Chin (MA Sup. Court), long-time member and a role model to many, as well as the first Asian Pacific American jurist to be appointed (in 1989) in the history of the Commonwealth.

2007: Caroline Chang, Policy Advisor to Boston City Councilor Sam Yoon, Managing Director of the Chinese Historical Society of New England and Board President of the Asian Community Development Corporation

2006: Hon. Ronald Lew of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California for his distinguished career in public service and on the bench.

2005: Dale Minami, who led the legal team that represented Fred Korematsu in overturning his conviction 39 years earlier for defying military orders and resisting report to an internment camp during World War II.

The Asian American Lawyers Association of Massachusetts (AALAM) is a non-partisan, 501(c)(6) non-profit organization.

Asian American Lawyers Association of Massachusetts
c/o The Boston Bar Association
16 Beacon Street
Boston, MA 02108-3774

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software